Thread: The Long Haul ~ Texasdadto4 page

Texasdadto4 is offline Junior Member

The Long Haul ~ Texasdadto4

Primal Blueprint Expert Certification
    Finally, after about 15 months, I start a journal. That's probably because I'm not good at writing, and I'm very forgetful.

My goal is to gain weight/build strength. I'm 5'8" and currently 132 lbs. I've struggled for years to keep weight on. The most I've ever weighed was 145, at the 'high point' of my SAD days (working at home with easy access to the corn chips and salsa).

I began last February as part of a plan to help my autistic daughter. We decided, as a family, to change what we were eating, together. So one Saturday morning, we emptied out the fridge and the cupboards. Threw out what we couldn't donate, and went shopping for meat and vegetables.

Since then, we've discovered the wonders of coconut oil, that bacon isn't just for breakfast, and many other things. Our health has improved, and until this recent allergy season, no visits to the doctor's office.

I have discovered that I can't eat enough. About a month in, I was at my lowest weight, 124 lbs. I began trying to eat close to 3000 calories per day, and start a strength training program. 5 months of this, and I 'stalled' in my progress on the weights, and was 137 lbs. This began a decline in my health, ending with the discovery that I had adrenal problems. This was in November 2010.

So here I am, after several months of treatment for adrenal fatigue and low testosterone. The Dr. has given me the OK to start working out again. I figured it's time to start a journal, in hopes that it will keep me motivated!