Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Erica's first powerlifting meet! (video) page

erica057 is offline Senior Member

Erica's first powerlifting meet! (video)

Shop Now
    Backstory: boxing is my main sport, but I started lifting seriously about a year ago after Women's National Golden Gloves. I couldn't get down to 119 but all of the girls at 125 were stronger than I. So, I decided to become the strongest 125 pounder I can be. I won't get into it right now, but if anyone is curious about anything regarding the effect that strength training has had on my boxing, just ask. I don't have a whole lot of time to weight train because I do so much boxing training and everything that goes with it (running, jump rope, etc) but I try to get my big basic lifts in. I've always wanted to compete and I don't have any fights for a while so it seemed like a good time. I went really conservative and I regret not shooting for higher in at least my third attempts, but now I know. Regardless, I know my lifts are pretty wussy compared to a lot of you folks and the people with whom you train, but I'm really a boxer first and foremost so I guess this is what you get.

I broke the state records for squat, bench, and total; supposedly I had broken deadlift as well but I looked it up later, and the record was 230 not 220 as they had told me. There was only one other female and she bombed out on the squat.

My bench basically sucked because like two weeks before the meet I was reading this random girl's meet report and she said that she missed her 2nd and 3rd attempts because they took so long to give the press command, then I was like "uhh oh sh!t I should probably be training for that". Had my husband start cueing me (I made him watch YouTube videos from 100% RAW bench press meets to get an idea of the timing) and my 1RM unfortunately dropped quite a bit. I PR'd on the squat and deadlift though.

Here is my video: