Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Will these bootcamp workouts hinder my fat loss (is it 'chronic cardio'?) page

Will these bootcamp workouts hinder my fat loss (is it 'chronic cardio'?)

Shop Now
    Hi!

So I've been doing Crossfit for a while but can't get there often enough, so I joined a local bootcamp that I can get to twice a week. I'm doing Crossfit once a week right now.

The bootcamp is a more 'typical' workout - lots of cardio - last week we did obstacle courses and it was over 20 minutes of very intense cardio and then about 20 minutes of body weight exercises. At crossfit I'm never doing more than about 3-5 minutes of cardio at a time without some sort of break and the workouts are never longer than about 20 minutes. The bootcamp is 60 minutes, of which we spend about 45 minutes moving hard and fast.

My goal is fat loss and toning (and, of course, strength). But in the short term the goal is to get 20 more pounds off of me quickly. I've been eating Primal for 4+ months and have had success but hit a plateau several weeks ago and am desperate to overcome the plateau...which is why I signed up for bootcamp.

Thanks!

BarbeyGirl is offline Senior Member
    I'd do it.

I think people on this forum are overly concerned about "chronic cardio." 45 total minutes of running among obstacles, followed by some bodyweight work, is a beautiful thing. Would I do it 4x weekly for the rest of my life? No. But I'd do it 2x weekly, or daily for a week straight 4x times a year.

Chronic cardio is pounding out 30 miles on the bicycle on weekdays, plus another 150 on weekends, as a matter of course.
    Chronic cardio is running 5-20 miles 4 days a week for months at a time.
    Chronic cardio is even just wasting a hour on the elliptical every morning, when you could be doing something useful like sprinting and lifting weights.
    Chronic cardio is a lot more cardio than people here think it is.