Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Primal fitness for injured? page

Primal fitness for injured?

Primal Blueprint Expert Certification
    Can someone help me with a routine along the lines of PBF? I am currently on crutches and have been on them for past three months because I had extreme knee surgery. I talked to my physical therapist and he said I can't squat yet because I only have 25% weight bearing still. I am capable of doing pullups, pushups, overhead and planks without putting more than that weight. I've been doing those twice a week for about 2 months but I'm not really getting any results. Since I can't walk yet sprinting is out of the question, would tabata sprints on the bike be sufficient enough? If so how many reps. I'm trying to get as fit as I can while I'm still unable to walk. I do have a pullup bar, kettle bell, bench press, and a recumbent bike. I also go to the Physical Therapy twice a week so I am working out my legs just not to the fullest. Am I being stupid trying to workout still or should I just wait until I'm fully healed?

BugMan is offline Member
    Dealling with the exact same issue. I have just started full weight bearing this last week and that may have been premature, but I was tired of walking with one crutch. Adivice given to me in another thread was cycle sprints, water sprints in pool, rowing, eliptical as you get to the point when you can put weight on your leg and kettle bell swings. I may never be able to do real sprints again, but it is a goal I would like to acheive.
    Last edited by BugMan; 04-25-2011 at 12:28 PM.
    Primal Cyclist - No Brakes, No Gears, No Handlebars, One Wheel, No Problem

Yeah walking with crutches really do suck. I'm actually calling my doctor today to see if I can put more weight on my leg. Also he recommended pool exercises but my pool is opened yet because it's been pretty cold here.

BugMan is offline Member