Thread: Low Back Pain with Body Weight Squats page

Treespeed is offline Junior Member

Low Back Pain with Body Weight Squats

Shop Now
    I watched Mark’s video about slowly building up to the “grok squat”, but have had incredibly bad back spasms and pain that radiates down the back of my leg. I’m fairly active so it seems crazy that simple body weight squats would result in such a big problem. I've tried stretching and the foam roller, but this doesn't seem to fix the underlying pain and now any type of core work seems to cause my low back to spasm.

Just curious, because it seems like so many of the comments on the many paleo blogs and forums are that folks eat paleo and jump into crossfit without ever incurring injury or pain and it doesn’t seem like that would be the case for everyone.

fishin-frog is offline Member
    I'm no expert, but to me that type of pain sounds like a pinched nerve. If so, you'll have to address that before becoming more active or progressing in your squat routine.

I don't think following the PB eating plan will make you immune from pain or injury, but trying to abide by PB Law 8 (Don't do stupid things) may help prevent injury. You seem to be doing that by listening to your body and not doing things that cause a lot of pain.

Apex Predator is offline Senior Member
    If I were you, I'd find a good chiropractor.

My doctor said that it's definitely muscular and not nerve or spine related. What reinforces this is that I have a reduction in pain symptoms with sports massage, but this doesn't help if I'm not able to strengthen the area to stop further injury.

Apex Predator, thank you for the advice, but I don't put much stock in the effectiveness of chiropractors.

I'm guessing I'll just have to wait until my insurance approves physical therapy.

MikeEnRegalia is offline Senior Member