Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: newishbie--do I need to rest a day between strength workouts? page

thyme is offline Member

newishbie--do I need to rest a day between strength workouts?

Primal Fuel
    I've been eating primal for a couple of months and lost 14 pounds. Over the last two weeks, I've stepped my protein up to 100 g/day and felt a significant difference--my toes are twitching when I'm sitting, I put dinner on the stove and want to do a few wall push-ups while it cooks, I've got energy to burn, baby.

When I run through the Primal Fitness exercises, though, I discover that I suck. For various reasons, I dropped my (rudimentary) strength exercises four months ago and have apparently lost all muscle strength since. I can plank for 10 seconds. I can squat 15 times. I can do 20 wall push-ups. We're not going to talk about pull-ups because I haven't been able to do them for 30 years.

So question: I've got energy to burn, suddenly, and my muscles suck at burning energy. I remember old school teachings about resting a day between workouts, to allow the muscles to build; I'm also rejecting most all old-school teachings about food to feel better than I've ever felt in my life on primal.

Should I rest a day or two between my (pathetic) strength workouts? Or should I indulge my energy-burning instincts and do muscular workouts every day regardless? I'm female, and I want to be strong.

Grumpycakes is offline Senior Member
    When you say you can plank for 10 seconds, do 15 squats, etc., do you mean that after doing those you are wiped out? You can't do more after taking a breather for a few minutes? If you push yourself to the maximum, then yes, you ought to rest a day or two or even three.

Also, a good way to put pent-up energy to use is to take long walks, which don't require taking rest days.
    You lousy kids! Get off my savannah!

MikeEnRegalia is offline Senior Member