Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: MaBelle's PJ: Wait, What? Homebrew isn't Primal? page

MaBelle is offline Member

MaBelle's PJ: Wait, What? Homebrew isn't Primal?

newbie here, starting a primal journal for record-keeping/accountability/whatevs...

I'm 37, had a horrid realization of my fat/unhealthfulness over the past few months and need to make some significant changes in my approach to nutrition and lifestyle. I've been fascinated/lurking as a non-member over here for a while and now's the time. I've ordered the book, read lots of MDA and forum archives, made a first-2weeks' menu plan and made my first primal grocery trip Thursday.

Issues so far -

OMG $231 at the grocery! Ack! But that did include a lot of high-dollar "staples" and I should have broken the list into a) Whole Foods-only items (supplements, coconut oil, specific spices, etc) and b) regular grocery items. since I've lived in Austin, I've maybe been in the WF three times or so...I just didn't get the Whole Paycheck joke until now!

I learned that adding Coconut Oil to coffee is a pleasant taste to me, but that when you stick your mug back into the microwave to reheat it, the OIL will come back to the top and that taking a big swig without stirring/allowing it to cool...is painful. Hot oil on the tongue...YOUCH! So regardless of how tasty everything might be, I'll not enjoy anything until the burned tongue heals.

and lastly...my husband makes the best beer ever and I am SO going to miss it for a while. For weight/health reasons I just can't afford the carbs of a homebrew (because really, who just has a homebrew?)

Starting Stats:

Current Wt: 175lb Goal: Healthful/Fit
    Current Ht: 5'5" Goal: LOL! I'm stuck, though posture/shape improvements might make me seem taller!

My tape measure is missing, when it resurfaces or I pick up a new one, I'll post body measurements - as improving those truly are my end goal.

so in summary - HI and Happy to be here!