Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Only stupid question is the one you dont ask? page

SpunkyB. is offline Junior Member

Only stupid question is the one you dont ask?

Primal Fuel
    So... I was thinking.. and while I am very new to the Primal lifestyle and I am just trying to get a grip on it, throwing caution to the wind when it comes to fats, trying to get over the CW and all but it seems like Im getting a vast majority of fat from coconut. (shredded, oil, milk) I read alot of hype about coconut oil but that is not why I "flock" to it. I just like it. I was curious why is the focus so much on the oil? Wouldnt the fat from the meat and milk be just as beneficial? If not.. why?

*Note* - I do get fat from other sources.. i.e. eggs, bacon, beef,lamb, fish but I do not eat much avocado (occasionally), I dont eat nuts ( trigger for me and I will eat them to no avail), occassional dairy, oh.. and I have been making/using ghee but I favor the coconut oil. I just wanted to add this so people dont think I am only getting fat from one source.

Grumpycakes is offline Senior Member
    The oil is concentrated. You'd have to eat a whole lot of shredded coconut and drink a whole lot of coconut milk to get what you can get in a tablespoon of oil.
    You lousy kids! Get off my savannah!

theholla is offline Senior Member
    Yup, the meat and the milk are also full of beneficial fats - just not as concentrated as in the oil. I'm not sure why all the hype centers on the oil either.
    The Primal Holla! Eating fat. Getting lean. Being awesome.

You were sick, but now you're well, and there's work to do. - Kilgore Trout

Grumpycakes is offline Senior Member
    The oil is the most bang for your buck, I guess.
    You lousy kids! Get off my savannah!

Yup - I think it's about 4 tbsp coconut milk to get the same fat as 1 tbsp coconut oil. It also might be easier to tell people to change their cooking oil than to add a novel food into their diet?

Stevoreo is offline Senior Member