Thread: Kerry's Primal Journal page

KerryE is offline Junior Member

Kerry's Primal Journal

I'm just starting out. I mean really just starting out. I've been researching and reading blogs and the book for about two weeks. Monday, I decided grain free was a good place to start and not too intimidating. And now I'm in the midst of that terrible carb flu feeling and decided to come say "Hi!"

I turned 29 last fall and was pretty much disgusted with the last 10 years. I had gained a 120 pounds in 10 years. Gone from an active 19-year-old with a baby in a hiking pack and a physical labor job to a sit-at-a-desk all day blob. And I looked at my grandparents and their siblings - Active Great-Uncle Jack (who still raises or grows most of his own food at 70) and by contrast, my paternal grandparents who are only a small step from selling their home to shift to assisted living. I know who I want to be like. I have PCOS and thyroid levels that are borderline and I'm not even 30 yet. It's NOT acceptable.

In late December and January, I did a round of the HCG diet. I know - terrible for me - but effective. I lost 34 pounds in 41 days. Going from 225 pounds to 191 pounds at 5'6" tall. I gave myself injections, weighed every food, and weighed myself every day. It was HARD. It worked but I never wanted to do it again. After I stabilized (3 more weeks of daily weighing and carful calorie/carb/fat control), I looked for something else.

I tried the conventional low fat, low calorie, high carb type of plan and I was hungry and tired all of the time. Then, I was poking around the net and discovered primal on one of the low-carb forums. I downloaded the book from amazon and devoured it in a few hours. Then I started searching the blogs. It just seems to make so much sense. Not just a diet, but a new way of life.