Thread: Goal: Gain Weight page

10climbe Guest

Primal Blueprint Expert Certification

I would like to start by saying that I am fairly new to the PB concept, and my experience has been limited to what I have read on this site. I have found that an overwhelming majority of the sites readers share the goal of losing weight. I am attracted to the diet for its obvious positive health connotations, and I was wondering if anyone would be able give any insights as to how well suited the PB would be for someone looking to gain lean muscle mass.

It is increasingly frustrating to read blog after blog that focuses on the calorie in/calorie out hypothesis when I know that model is flawed. I guess that in short I was wondering if it is possible to gain lean muscle mass while following the PB.

tman Guest

Yes, but if you REALLY want to gain muscle mass-you do have to eat-more than you expend. People will tell you that you can gain muscle on a calorie deficit and this is true-but if your looking to add significant muscle, you have to eat a good amount of food along with your training. The challenge with Primal style eating is it tends to satiate your apatite (this is still a good thing) and it takes a lot of fruits and veggies and lean meats to get enough calories. You may feel like you are stuffing yourself-which may be a good thing as overeating in general isn't a very healthy thing to do (and building big muscles isn't very primal unless your an easy gainer-genetically gifted). This is where eating more carbs can be helpful. If you have a hard time getting enough calories/gaining muscular weight, I would add in potatoes and rice (I like oatmeal for this too unless you have a gluten issue). My fellow primal comrades wont like this recommendation but if you really want to gain muscle over and above what your body naturally wants to on a healthy primal diet, it will help.

Tarlach is offline Member

I am putting on muscle and do not need to lose any weight.