Thread: Racing Heartbeat + Insomnia page

Bunnyfoot is offline Member

Racing Heartbeat + Insomnia

Primal Fuel
    So, has anyone experienced this after going primal?
    Everything had been going swimmingly up until about two weeks ago and now I can't sleep and my heart races when I am in bed.

I supplement in the morning with vitamin D, Fish oil, Probiotics, B Complex, 5-HTP. I supplement in the evenings with Magnesium Citrate.

I have been doing this for two months and the only thing that changed is I stopped taking my birth control this past month. I now only take my thyroid medication. Could my hormones be that drastically changed from dropping the pill? or could there be something else going on - I know iron deficiency can cause heart palpitations, but with the several weeks I tracked my eating there was no lack of iron being ingested.

I just feel really effed up all of a sudden and I don't like it.

melodious is offline Senior Member
    I think you're hear this from a bunch of people: it happened to me, too. For me, it was after only a couple of weeks primal. Carb flu then insomnia, one right after the other. I never figured out what it was and it sucked, but then it went away and hasn't come back in more than a year. It lasted about 1-2 weeks.

I'm more than 3 months in and I still get it. It's very bothersome.

JKC
    JKC is offline Senior Member
    It sounds like your thyroid medication may need to be dropped. That is how I feel when I get hyper. I get hyper sometimes from losing weight. A smaller body needs less thyroid supplementation to maintain itself.

Frozen North - that sounds like where I live!
    Karin

A joyful heart is good medicine

He is no fool who gives what he cannot keep to gain what he cannot lose. - Jim Elliot

Mmmmm. Real food is good.

My Journal: http://www.marksdailyapple.com/forum/thread29685.html

marcadav is online now Senior Member