Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: I was hoping for bigger muscle gains! page

tommyho1 is offline Member

I was hoping for bigger muscle gains!

Shop Now
    hey,

so this is my first post. i have been reading a lot about going primal etc and i have been giving it a go for the last 2 months.

i go to the gym 3 times a week to lift some weights, i do a sprint session once a week and then other aerobic stuff including playing soccer, hiking etc.

my diet usually consists of something like; 4 eggs, 100g nut butter, banana, few berries, whey protein, 200g tuna, salad, 200g chicken/pork/beef with green vegetables plus then maybe some primal energy bar.

i have to say, i feel a little healthier and better inside and i get less fluctuations in my levels of tiredness throughout the day.

my only problem is, as a skinny guy, i am trying to bulk up (whilst also being healthy). last year i went from 162lb to 173lb in 10 months. in the last two months i have only been able to increase by about 2 pounds.

does anybody have any advice on how i can increase my rate of muscle growth?

Grumpycakes is offline Senior Member
    Lift heavier, eat more.
    You lousy kids! Get off my savannah!

captaineight is offline Senior Member
    You really have to eat like a motherf-----r to put on muscle, and you'll have to ramp up your carb intake as well. That doesn't mean it has to be unhealthy carbs, grains, sugars or whatever. I would drop your gym days down to two a week. Concentrate on big, heavy moves like squats, dead-lifts, bench-press, rows, etc. Forget the little isolation things like triceps press and whatnot. But most importantly, eat like a pig. Just like more well-padded individuals are accustomed to eating a large amount of calories, and often underestimate the reduction required to lose weight, slim people have a body that is accustomed to eating relatively few calories and almost always underestimate the huge calorie increase required to get bigger.