Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: How much nuts is too much nuts? Newbie question page

vibrantblue is offline Junior Member

How much nuts is too much nuts? Newbie question

Shop Now
    Okay, to be honest, I haven't been weighing or measuring amounts any more than just whatever fits in my hand. :lol: My measurement consists of 'handful of nuts'. During the day I'll probably eat 3-4 handfuls (some ground in recipes) of a mix of walnuts, pecans or cashew.

Is that too much nut? I need snack options that are portable, non-messy high in protein and fat, which I believed my nut snacking to be.

tanyayogi is offline Senior Member
    Buenos Aires until I start at NYU in the fall!
    That's how much I eat, usually. Today: 1/4 cup almond milk, then like 1/4-1/2 cup of almond meal for a pancake.
    I'm also a newbie though. Most PBers eat I think a little less than 3-4 handfuls/day - more like 1-2. They eat more meat, I think. This is just my perception - may or may not be true.
    Try and calculate the exact amount of nuts you eat and how many grams of carbs it is and then see if it's too much.

aktres is offline Senior Member
    How much nuts is enough nuts? As enough nuts as it takes to get you through the day, until that much nuts is more than enough nuts, then you can cut back. I used to keep nuts at my desk for an afternoon snack, now I don't even think about snacking. Eat what you like (primally) until you decide to make an adjustment, it's all good.

Adrianag is offline Senior Member
    I believe Mark says 1 ounce a day. If you are trying to lose weight or optimize your omega ratios 3 to 4 handfuls is probably too much.

morganpmiller is offline Senior Member
    Depends on the person, lifestyle, and their metabolism I think. I've probably been eating way too much nuts, especially at night.

jammies is offline Senior Member