Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Glycogen question page

ncstarnes is offline Junior Member

Glycogen question

Primal Fuel
    Hello! I am relatively new to the primal lifestyle but love everything so far. Just trying to understand a few things. I do not have a strong nutrition based physiology background and I would love to understand more about glycogen use in the body. I obviously know the basics and that it is the storage form of glucose in the body held in the liver and muscle. I am more interested in knowing if there is a way to determine how much glycogen is used up during exercise. I read that if you are doing more than an hour of exercise you would need to take in an extra 100g of carbs? I also read a post where Mark said that protein post workout could be used to refill the glycogen stores. If that is true, why do I need to increase carbs, can't i just eat more protein? Also, why does the body need to replenish the glycogen stores anyway? For example, Mark said if you were doing p90x that you would need to eat more carbs to reload the glycogen. Why is it so important to reload the glycogen tank if we can burn fat efficiently for energy? I have read some pretty detailed research that says when performing sprints or high impact exercises for very short periods of time our bodies will literally burn nothing but glycogen or sugar stores and then for the next 24 - 36 hours our bodies switch to fat burning mechanisms. I hope someone can answer some of these questions. Thanks!

erica057 is offline Senior Member
    What is your current workout regime like?
    My food blog ~ http://stuffimakemyhusband.blogspot.com
    My primal success story

"Boxing seems to contain so complete and so powerful an image of life -- life's beauty, vulnerability, despair, incalculable and often self-destructive courage -- that boxing IS life, and hardly a mere game." --Joyce Carol Oates

Alex Good is offline Senior Member