I Figured if I shared my experience I might help or inspire someone else in some way and keep myself focused. Who knows? When I read the other journals I gain knowledge as well as a little pick me up here and there. One disclosure: I am not an expert. Not even close. I know very little about diet. Just trying to follow Marks book PB. With a goal of 80/20 or thereabouts. So here goes.

I started on or about Feb 1 and weighed 254 fully clothed. There was no way I would get on a scale while not hiding whats under there. Or at least not turn on the light. Much less take a picture ( face is making that i smell s look). I have always been muscular under it all and at 5-9 most doctors put it as "well nourished". Since then I have lost about 18lbs in ten weeks without really trying! At all. Except for the initial salivation for cabs the first two weeks its been painless.

Ive read PB and followed most of the 80/20 principles as far as diet goes. The PB cookbooks are fun and easy. I have impressed my three boys with they call the "caveman diet" as well as my wife who's culinary skills are famous around here, albeit a little grainy for now. Seeing the attitude change in me has change my families attitude about carbs. How many hungry 16,18 and 20 yr old athletes do you now of eat a big burger with bacon and cheese and all the fixings no bun or fries and really like it? Sure we have gone out for pizza a couple of times but its a far cry from twice a week. Actually its just not that satisfying anymore. Im beginning to develop a sensitivity to grains. The after dinner sweets thing rears its ugly head now and then but that's when I know its time for sleep. I can really say it feels like we were always supposed to eat this way.