Thread: Just gutted a fish for the 1st time! page

SonyaJane is offline Senior Member

Just gutted a fish for the 1st time!

Primal Fuel
    So this might not seem like a big deal to some people, but I've never done it before and I didn't know what to expect inside... It was quite grim and I had to start by handling the fish with plastic tongs, but I eventually got stuck in with a knife and tea spoon and cleaned it right out. I then cut off the head, and the fish seemed to freak me out a little less. It's now in the oven, stuffed with lemon, drizzled with olive oil and warpped in tin foil (180 degrees celcius for 20 mins). I feel more primal now and one step closer to going fishing.

Digby is offline Senior Member
    Next: fileting.
    This time, like all times, is a very good one, if we but know what to do with it. Ralph Waldo Emerson

Any given day you are surrounded by 10,000 idiots.
    Lao Tsu, founder of Taoism

Bissen is offline Senior Member
    Oooh, it reminds me of my childhood! Whenever my brother, father and I would go fishing, we had a lot of gutting to do when we got home ^^
    It's actually quite fun, and now that I think of it, it's been years since I've done it!

But yeah, catching your own food makes you feel awesome

Diana Renata is offline Senior Member
    Yup that was the first thing I learned to clean when I was a kid. Even now when I clean fish it reminds me of those summer days.

Hilary is offline Senior Member
    I had my first scaling & gutting experience last week. Maybe we should form a club?

The instructions from the fishmonger:
    1) use scissors to cut off the fins
    2) go outside, hold the fish by the tail, and scrape from tail to head with a knife to remove the scales
    3) cut off the head
    4) the guts will all come out with the head