Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Pistol squat question page

The Big L is offline Senior Member

Pistol squat question

I'm just getting started with working on pistol squats. So far I seem to have enough strength to do a rep or two, but the balance is very tricky. I'm sure that will sort itself out with practice.

Other than balance, the one thing that has been driving me crazy is the non-pressing leg -- the one that you hold out in front of you. As I approach the bottom of the squat (or just after leaving the bottom of the squat), I start to feel tremendous pressure on the upper part of the thigh. Not the very top by the hip, but between 1/4-1/2 the distance along the path from the hip to the knee.

Back when I was doing bulgarian squats, I seem to recall feeling the same sort of fatigue/discomfort in the trailing leg that was resting on the bench behind me. But it's much more acute in the pistol squat.

Is this a strength issue, a flexibility issue, or both? What are some exercises I can work on to improve in this area?

robbie1512 is offline Member
    I have felt a similar pain when I have attempted to do pistols. I specify ATTEMPTED lol. Anyways I believe the pain in my case at least due to a lack of strength in my hanging leg because as I go down, my hips angle down more, so to keep my leg at the same height, it is more like lifting leg up past half way and I can't do that... I have tried just lifting my leg higher and holding it to try and build strength but I haven't done it routinely enough to say that is effective.

Grumpycakes is offline Senior Member
    I never had that problem and could always keep my leg straight with no problems. But I have naturally big quads so I suspect that you just need to do more pistol squats!
    You lousy kids! Get off my savannah!

federkeil is offline Senior Member