Page 1 of 7 123 ... LastLast

Thread: My Blood Glucose Experiment Scary Results page

Sharonll is offline Senior Member

My Blood Glucose Experiment Scary Results

Primal Blueprint Expert Certification
    In January this year I had my fasting blood glucose checked, and after 16 hours of fasting it was at 113. This was the same number from a year earlier when I had it checked. So, even though I had been eating primally since August 2009, and had lost fifty pounds, my fasting blood glucose was still at 113.

My doctor didn’t even mention it as a concern when she mailed my lab results to me, instead choosing to focus on the cholesterol levels, which I wasn’t even concerned about.

Since that test, during the entire month of March, I have maintained an average daily intake of 1,138 calories, consisting of an average of 78 grams of fat (62%), 13.6 grams of carbs (4%), and 91 grams of protein (34%). On 2/26/11, I was 202 lbs, and on 3/27/11 I was down to 192 lbs, so I lost ten pounds in one month.

I felt great during March, and realized that cutting out dairy for the month had really helped me to lose more weight. But, I kept having nagging worries about my blood sugar levels. I felt sure that I could reverse the damage I’d done to my body during the years of obesity and yo-yo dieting by going primal, but even after losing over fifty pounds my body wasn’t healing itself. Having such a high fasting blood glucose level meant that I was prediabetic according to everything I was reading online. Here’s an excellent source of such information: Insulin Resistance and Prediabetes.

So, I purchased a blood glucose meter a week or so ago in order to get an idea of what my fasting blood glucose levels would be after a month of such tight control. If anyone else is thinking of buying a blood glucose meter, the one I purchased is very simple to use and only costs $7.99. It’s the Bayer’s Contour Blood Glucose Meter.