Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Weight lifting, no soreness and undertraining page

NutMeg is offline Senior Member

Weight lifting, no soreness and undertraining

Primal Fuel
    Yeah, I sort of ripped off that other title

I started lifting differently on Wednesday.
    Workout program for Beginner's (detailed w/printout) | GymJunkies.com

Basically using this program, but I did only two days this week so Wednesday was squats, lumberjack press (in place of over head press) and inclined chest press (in place of bench press). Substitutions are because of have instability in my right shoulder and these are less likely to cause injury.

Today I did; dead lifts, chin-ups and dips (with dip assist machine).

I am not sure how sore I will be from today's workout tomorrow, but right now i don't feel like I did enough. I was not really sore yesterday or today from what I did on Wednesday.

I am new to this style of lifting, but have been doing everything else except the dead lifts before. I used to do cardio circuits and was ALWAYS sore the next few days. So, I was surprised to not be sore with this. Obviously it means I need to lift heavier, but how much heavier? 5 pounds per workout? I am not sure how much the bars will weigh in the weight room...maybe too much?

I am bummed about needing more weight though because it means I have to go into the 'man cave' that is our weight room. But, the 24 lb bar in the smaller workout room is not going to be heavy enough for my squats and dead lifts. It may be okay for the upper body stuff for now.

So, should I be sore or is it okay that I am only slightly sore? I am not trying to get 'huge' I just want to put on about 4-5 pounds of lean mass. I would like to reach my goal by October, so it isn't like I am trying to bulk up quickly.

Bushrat is offline Senior Member
    You're not doing SS but this answers your question anyway:

The first set seems really easy. Should I add more weight for the next few sets?