Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Fit Test advice page

futuretrpr is offline Junior Member

Fit Test advice

Primal Blueprint Expert Certification
    Hey everyone, I'm new to PBF and hoping for some advice. I have a Fit Test for employment coming up in 30 days where I have to do max pullups, pushups, situpps, 200 yard sprint and a timed 2 mile run. My current workout has basically consisted of 4 sets of pullups, 3 sets of lat pull downs, and 4 supersets of pushup/crunches/wide pushup/reverse crunches/diamond pushups/side crunches. I do this 2x a week and run 2-3 miles 3 times a week. I don't really feel like I'm getting the results I need for my test and am wondering if the PBF plan will get me where I need to be? I'm just worried because I'm actually doing more now than I would be on the PBF and logic makes me want to believe that "less is NOT more". Help?!

BarbeyGirl is offline Senior Member
    Cool. I wish my work required a fit test. (Except that I'd be about the only one left in the office afterwards...)

Anyway, I'd switch things around and do more strength training and less running. My 8-day rotation would include:

1 "long" run day (3 miles, moderate pace) plus the bodyweight exercises to be tested
    1 sprint day (8x 100-meter hill sprints)
    2 bodyweight days (including variations on the exercises to be tested, but harder variations -- ie L-sits, not crunches, for abs)
    1 heavy lifting day (bench press, military press, backsquat, deadlift)
    3 rest days

I'd throw in one of those rest days after the heavy day, and 2 in a row after the long run day. Also, after the test, I'd back off a little.

Curious as to what you believe your weakest point to be...
    Last edited by BarbeyGirl; 04-01-2011 at 11:07 AM.
    Nightlife ~ Chronicles of Less Urban Living, Fresh from In the Night Farm ~ Idaho's Primal Farm! http://inthenightlife.wordpress.com/

Latest post: Stop Being Stupid

Coach Palfrey is offline Senior Member