Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Coconut milk - blech! help! page

PrimalK is offline Junior Member

Primal Fuel

I am a little disappointed. I bought some organic coconut milk at the weekend and had high hopes of loving getting some more fat in my daily eating schedule.

It's awful. Don't get me wrong, I love coconut, the oil is great. But the milk was so awful I had to spit it out. I'm not a fussy eater, there is nothing that I can think of that I don't like to eat. But this? Yuck.

I would love to try it again, but I'm struggling to think what to do it in a Primal way that would make me be able to swallow it. It's so greasy and tastes neither sweet nor savoury.

Can anybody help? BTW, I'm not very good with fruit - it really throws me out of whack as my body justs goes into overdrive and I'm hungry minutes later.

misathemeb is offline Member

i'd add some ice and stevia if you can't mix in some berries. OR...you could use a whey powder like vanilla and make a coconut smoothie out of it!

gazb is offline Junior Member

Make Thai style curry with it? That's not exactly an easy way to get it in daily though. To be honest there's plenty other, and cheaper, fat sources out there.

I can easily drink coconut milk on its own, but as I say it's a bit pricey for it to be a staple. I tried it in coffee and it was horrible.

OnTheBayou is offline Senior Member
    Sarasota, Florida, USA, Earth, Milky Way Galaxy

There are repeated anecdotes here of individuals reacting very negatively to CM. Now, individual taste for something like coconut itself is, um, uh, individual. But to spit it out? And being all saturated fats, rancidity should be out of the question.

I'd try another brand, if you can. Whole Foods 365 Organic and Thai Kitchen are two reliable ones and widely available.

I have the opposite problem. I could drink a can at a sitting, easily. All 700 calories!

mrd232 is offline Junior Member