Thread: Ambulance Nutrition page

JGate is offline Junior Member

Ambulance Nutrition

Shop Now
    Heyo! I work as a full time EMT for a rural (yet busy) ambulance service. We are the sole advanced life support provider in the area, responding to all 911 calls. Presently, all shifts are either 12 or 24 hours on call. During this time you're assigned to a unit which operates from posting points around the county (the 12 hour unit), or comes from a station (the 24 hour unit).

Downtime is rare. While I am relatively new to this profession, I knew from the start that the health and fitness level of the common responder was nothing to admire. This observation is painfully true, as most of the individuals in my agency are not models of good health.

To put it simply, I absolutely do not have adequate time to maintain proper nutritional intake while working this profession. If we stop for food, it's usually at a location where we can get something quick for obvious reasons. If one person wants to go here, and the other elsewhere, we're knowingly sacrificing our eating time; we're bound to get a call with a full mouth. I'd consider myself to be a fit and healthy person -- I do not intend to let myself slip into a life of lard.

My question is this:

To those of you who work a busy schedule, how do you maintain nutrition throughout the day? I currently carry gratuitous amounts of healthy snack food on the truck, but am looking for quick alternatives. Preparing food prior to shift is a difficult task, since hours worked vary daily. What say you? Do you have any suggestions for on-the-go eating?

john_solo is offline Senior Member
    My wife and I make meat wraps all the time for situations like this. Cold cuts (roast beef is my favorite) wrapped around avocado, peppers, and spinach. Also copious veggies and fruit, of course.

Hedonist is offline Senior Member
    I don't have any great suggestions. I just want to thank you for serving!
    Ancestral Health Info