Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Too lean? page

TrPAssasin is offline Member

Too lean?

Shop Now
    Is there such a thing? Can a person be too lean? I would like to know.

I have had 2 body-fat percentage readings they said I was at: 1) 4.5% (Calipers) 2) 11% (electrical conduction)

I work at a personal training studio, as a Massage Therapist, I'm very active and I used to live off cheap carbs (pasta/rice) up to about a month ago when I started going Primal. I have always been active in MMA/BJJ/Combat Sports, I am 5'9" and weigh around 140lbs typically, and have always been lean. The 11% was taken just before I started and the 4.5% about 1 or 2 weeks Primal. The accuracy is not exact as both methods have a decent margin of error.

I was boxing today with one of the trainers I work with and we got on the topic, I told him my Body-fat % was about 5% and he thought that was unhealthy and nearly anorexic. I have never been able to keep extra weight on. Trust me I tried, I've worked with trainers, eaten for months until I was sick, taken every supplement, I made it to about 150lbs once and after a month of cutting my eating to a comfortable level I was back to about 142lbs.

I feel fantastic, I started going Primal because I was always hungry and when I didn't eat I would get shaky and irritable and after ready the PB I found that it was because of those carb-crashes from my carb heavy diet. Since I changed my diet my energy levels are constant, my mood is great, and my ability to get up in the mornings is much better (I have never been a morning person). I also consume on average 3000 calories a day.

So back to the original question, can you be too lean? Am I too lean?
    Last edited by TrPAssasin; 03-31-2011 at 03:14 PM.

theone is offline Junior Member