Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Supplementing magnesium - is calcium necessary? page

KG
    KG is offline Senior Member

Supplementing magnesium - is calcium necessary?

Primal Fuel
    I've been sleeping poorly for a few years, and I've tried everything under the sun to try and remedy my sleep quality; turning off electronics an hour before bed (helps me get to sleep, but still sleep lightly), sticking consistently to a schedule, being completely primal, getting plenty of exercise, etc.

I think a magnesium supplement would be beneficial, because I don't eat many dark green vegetables (I like them, but I just never really get round to buying them) and dark chocolate tends to keep me awake because of its stimulative compounds.

I'll be buying a magnesium citrate supplement (NOW foods) from iherb soon, but the only thing I'm confused about is whether I should buy some calcium citrate as well (same brand). I supplement with 5000iu of Vitamin D per day, and I've read that sufficient Vitamin D levels can drastically improve the absorption of calcium.

Should I buy the calcium? If so, when should I take it? I've heard that magnesium and calcium 'compete' so to speak, so it's best to take them at different times during the day. Should I only take <500mg?

I've read the Vitamin D thread and other posts on MDA, but there doesn't really seem to be a clear answer on this. I understand that needs are individual, but I believe a general rule of thumb should exist.

Thanks!

IcarianVX is offline Senior Member
    I was always under the impression that Magnesium uptake was inhibited by Calcium. I could be wrong though.

I take a ZMA supplement every night before bed and it does help. Well, my dreams are much more dramatic and weird, which is a reported side effect of ZMA, so I am assuming that it is working as described. However, I don't eat anything with high amounts of calcium for about 3 hours before bed due to what I said at the top.