Thread: I need help troubleshooting low energy... page

nocturnalmama is offline Senior Member

I need help troubleshooting low energy...

Primal Fuel
    Hey all.

I've been eating primal for almost two years now. I would say I'm fairly strict - I don't cheat often. I do indulge in primal baking from time to time, honey in my tea, and I did consume heavy cream and yogurt pretty much daily.

Last week, I started the whole30 challenge taking away dairy and all sweeteners.

Today - at my yoga class, I noticed a definite loss of energy and strength.

My carb intake is around the same as it's always been, maybe slightly lower - I'd say close to 75g/day. My protein is higher than usual (closer to 100g, when normally around 90g). I'm wondering if it could be that I'm eating less fat (without the heavy cream daily, fat is a bit harder to get in)??

Does anyone have this experience? I feel pretty good otherwise... a bit foggy in the head, a bit irritable from time to time, but my body, stomach, etc all feel great.

Thoughts?
    Robin
    ~primal mama to 3~

A friendly bump, hoping someone is able to offer some thoughts on this...
    Robin
    ~primal mama to 3~

IcarianVX is offline Senior Member
    I think you nailed it with the lower fat. Since you are already adapted, your body is probably looking to that extra fat from the dairy as an energy source.
    Could you possibly add in an avocado or maybe a fattier cut of meat in one of your meals? How much heavy cream and/or yogurt are we talking about? 1tbsp would be easier to supplement than say 1cup or something.
    People too weak to follow their own dreams will always try to discourage others.

thank you.... it was about 1/4 cup heavy cream a day (but raw, and pretty high in milk fat) and the yogurt was full fat greek - and that would have been only about 1 cup a week - maybe 2.