Thread: Some Advice please page

emergingstar is offline Junior Member

Some Advice please

Primal Fuel
    Hi all

Im new to going primal im type 1 diabetic and after reading the primal blueprint i think this is the way for me.
    Im trying to educate myself on the best fats to eat i was never really good with nutrition

So if anyone good jump in with the best meats i could cook or point me in the right way i would be very grateful.

Thanks

Anave is offline Member
    Well for starters, what kinds of meats do you most enjoy cooking and eating? Beef? Poultry? Fish? Others?

When starting out on a new way of eating I think it's helpful to utilize the things you know you like and will want to eat, and there are many good sources of healthy fats from which to choose. My personal favorite is fish, especially salmon, and I don't like red meat which most of the PB community seems to adore.

So, I say start with the meats you're automatically drawn to and start expanding from there.
    We must learn to do what the leaf and the whale and the wind do of their own nature. We must learn to keep the balance. Having intelligence, we must not act in ignorance. Having choice, we must not act without responsibility
    -Sparrowhawk, The Farthest Shore by Ursula K. LeGuin

slacker is offline Senior Member
    Coconut oil. Coconut oil daily is a good idea. Check around for the various virgin coconut oil brands available to you and see what you like. Their tastes can be very different. If you search the MDA archives, you'll find lots of good information and recipes.

bokbadok is offline Senior Member
    YES: Animal fats, coconut oil, olive oil, macadamia nut oil.

NO: corn, soybean, safflower, cottonseed, canola or other vegetable oils that require large scale industrial methods to extract.
    42 yo female; 5'8"
    Oct 2009: 205 lbs
    Dec 2010: 167 lbs
    Current weight: 158 lbs (first time under 160 in 17 years!!!)
    Goal weight: 145 lbs

Digby is offline Senior Member