Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Total newb question page

CoyoteVick is offline Senior Member

Total newb question

Primal Fuel
    ok, so I'm a total newb to the whole "exercise" thing, I've always just lost weight by not eating. I'm trying to do bodyweight stuff (because I hate the gym) but I am REALLY weak (also, I weigh a LOT so, ya know that is part of it). I can only do maybe 10 (knee) pushups at a time and I was wondering, is it ok to randomly do a few pushups throughout the day instead of doing a "routine". I always feel like such a loser when I do a routine. I can only do a couple pushups, no situps, no pullups, a couple squats. It takes me like, 5 minutes, max, and I'm worn out. I always feel like I should at least do like, 30 minutes of exercise, or it isn't even worth it. But I just CAN'T do that much LHT. So I was wondering, would it lead to "doing to much, too fast" (a curse of mine) if I just randomly did a few pushups, etc whenever I felt like it, instead of doing a "routine" three times a week (or whatever).

I know I'm a total newbie, but exercise has never been my "thing", and I know that I need to do it, I'm just so far out of shape, I don't even know where to BEGIN.

thanks!

Nethru is offline Member
    Grease the Groove baby!

Yeah do a few throughout the day will definetly help you out. Just keep at it you will get stronger and stronger the more you do it.
    ph'nglui mglw'nafh Cthulhu R'lyeh wgah'nagl fhtagn

geostump is offline Senior Member
    Definitely do that! As a friend of mine says, "do what you can, when you can." I was like that when I lost 50 lbs 5 years ago. I would also do the same for moving slowly more frequently.
    Georgette

canio6 Guest