Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: birthday cake? page

junebu8 is offline Senior Member

birthday cake?

Primal Fuel
    Ok, so it's time for my daughter's birthday, and though I fully realize that cake is not a primal food, I'm hoping to lean toward something more primal-friendly, mainly because we just celebrated my son's birthday with a traditional death by chocolate cake that left us feeling...well...dead, for a few days afterward. Also, she asked for a banana cake, with coconut and nuts in it, which sounds like a reasonable start, with cream cheese frosting, which also seems somewhat doable. Does anyone have a low sugar, low-grain/grain free banana cake recipe that they've tested? For the frosting I was thinking whipped cream cheese and butter, sweetened mostly with stevia, and a little powdered sugar for texture? Or maybe honey?

I'm open to ideas!

June

JillianMarie77 is offline Senior Member
    Coconut flour and splenda for baking? I'm new to this but I did recently search "muffin" on here and I ended up making a blueberry muffin recipe that had coconut flour and banans in it. I forgot to add the stevia so it wasn't sweet but it still tasted okay. You can try experimenting with that recipe.

ETA Happy Birthday to your little ones
    Jillian
    Strict Vegetarian going primal as of 3/2011. This is a tough row to hoe!

So far I am down:
    • 6lbs
    • 1% BMI
    • 1" in my waist
    • 2.5" at my belly button
    • 1" in my hips

canio6 Guest
    Check this out: Girl Gone Primal: The Banquet! & Recipe: Chocolate Cake 4 Dummiez

She has a chocolate with berry cake recipe which looks a lot like a banana split to me. I am sure you could add banana and coconut with no issues. It is about half way down the page.

or this: The Food Lovers' Primal Palate: Happy Birthday Hayley - Dark Chocolate Coconut Cake

dark chocolate coconut cake from primal-palate, which looks damned good too.

CoyoteVick is offline Senior Member