Thread: New to Primal page

angie00708 is offline Junior Member

New to Primal

Primal Fuel
    I'm new to eating primal. I'm at 230 lbs and looking to lose. I need advice on what to eat to add fat. I'm terrified to eat it! I've been taught my whole life to avoid it so it scares me to add it back to my diet in the amount the Primal diet suggests. I don't even know what to eat to get that amount of fat in my diet. I've started adding coconut milk but have to be careful - it causes some gastoinstestinal distress.

As far as exercise, I've been a chronic cardio'er for the last year. I've lost 80 lbs. in the last 1.5 years but have hit a wall in the last year. I've started the Primal way of excercise and feel better and stronger already.

Any help and guidance would be greatly appreciated.

primalrob is offline Senior Member
    don't be afraid of fat, but don't go chasing after it either. focus on eating meats, fish, vegetables and eggs and you will do just fine. the relatively high amount of fat that most PBers eat is because it's healthy, to be sure, but also because it fills us up. but meat and veggies are your staples...just dress your veggies with butter.

Primal-J is offline Member
    You're not far off where I was when I started - I was following all sorts of Mens Health articles, the "Abs Diet", and believed that most fad was to be avoided.

One good way to "trick" yourself into eating more fat is a big salad;

1. Avocado
    2. Nuts
    3. Olive oil (I add balsamic, garlic, herbs, lemon juice, etc - no sugar)
    4. Lots of veggies
    5. Add meat or fish - I love to add a good cut of steak chopped up into all my salads

You can have yourself a very fatty meal while loading yourself with nutrients. My salads, as well as many others' on the boards, tend to be quite big and are full meals.