Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Talk to me about liver! page

BarbeyGirl is offline Senior Member

Talk to me about liver!

Shop Now
    Okay, it's time to start eating organ meats, particularly liver. I'm a good cook and not squeamish, but I don't have any experience working with liver.

Any tips for making tasty beef and/or chicken liver dishes?

ETA: Sorry -- DUH. Dunno how I missed the other thread!
    Nightlife ~ Chronicles of Less Urban Living, Fresh from In the Night Farm ~ Idaho's Primal Farm! http://inthenightlife.wordpress.com/

Latest post: Stop Being Stupid

Grumpycakes is offline Senior Member
    For beef liver, I usually just put salt and some indian masala spice mix on it and fry it up in coconut oil with onions. I love beef liver, but don't like pork liver or chicken liver very much.
    You lousy kids! Get off my savannah!

livingprimal is offline Senior Member
    I'm going to attempt to make Chicken Liver pate, I hear it's wonderful (using a recipe from Julia Childs, with lots of butter!). I figure I could start there. I hear all the benefits of eating organs, but it's not something I'm going to force myself to do unless I like it. Good luck! (to both of us!)

fieldofroses1 is offline Member
    I'm a BIG fan of chicken liver but not beef liver. Here is a recipe from my blog you'll love

http://paleomiddleeastern.blog.com/2...4/hello-world/

Another variation is to follow the same recipe just add 1/2 head cauliflower, sautee with onions and add 1 tsp curry to the dish to give a different flavor, hope this helps

tangentrider is offline Senior Member
    I had calves liver with green curry: amazing! (and I hated, no HATED, liver as a child.)
    Started PB late 2008, lost 50 lbs by late 2009. Have been plateaued, but that thing may just be biting the dust: more on that later.

TigerJ is offline Senior Member