Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Simply can not afford grass-fed or organic (UK) page

HERC0 is offline Member

Simply can not afford grass-fed or organic (UK)

Primal Fuel
    Hi everyone

This is my first post on these forums so a big hello!

I wanted to ask how much success I am likely to forfeit from being unable to afford grass-fed or organic meats and vegatables?

I understand there are no real substitutes for these healthy foods but can anyone offer any advice or suggestions for what I can do?

I am a student on a very low part time income in the UK. I could probably afford supermarket meat with the Red Tractor symbol which is "an independent mark of quality that guarantees the food we’re buying comes from farms and food companies that meet high standards of food safety and hygiene, animal welfare and environmental protection" (from the Red Tractor website), but I understand that this does not mean the animal was grass-fed and of course not raised to organic standards. Other sources I've read however, say that most British farms do raise grass-fed animals anyway?

I've never been to a farmers market but I believe there is one on the last Saturday of every month in the city where I live (so this coming Saturday) which I intend to look in to. I imagine the meat and produce will still be more expensive than what I can get in the supermarket though? In which case I still may not be able to afford it.

Many thanks in advance!

simodalcais is offline Senior Member
    Just by going primal means you have already made a great step towards greater health . The elimination of grains for one is going to benefit you enormously . Don't worry too much about grass fed or organic if you really cant afford it , but it would be worth your while to go to the market and ask lots of questions , and don't be scared to haggle , I do it all the time and get heaps of bargains . You wont get anything if you don't ask !

danandvicky is offline Member