Thread: fish oil page

RachelRD is offline Senior Member

fish oil

I bought some carlsons fish oil today..

It has 500 EPA and 300 DHA per teaspoon..

per the whole 9 calc, i need 9 teaspoons per day...

I have taken fish oil in the past...but it was def. the wrong kind..had omega 6 in it..sooo, im fairly new to taking the fish oil

my question is...
    how does everyone spread this amount out thru the day if you are at work?

obviously you cant put the liquid in a ziploc baggie and take with you like you can the capsules..

does anyone mix it in anything? I do take a small container of greek yogurt with berries for breakfast..does it change the taste of the food if you mix it with something? and is it still as effective if you mix it with something?

anyone take more than 1 teaspoon at a time? say 2 or 3?

thanks all.

Stabby is offline Senior Member
    Is that Carlson's flavored fish oil? If it is, I always found it yummy despite the subconscious knowledge that it was supposed to be gross.

The thing to remember with fish oil is that if it comes in ethyl ester form then you need dietary triglycerides (fat) along with it to absorb it properly. If it is this Very Finest Fish Oil Lemon Flavor at Carlson Labs then it is the good stuff and you don't need to take it with anything. Just to be safe the optimal time would be after a meal. You can call it a desert...

Fish oil doesn't have to be consumed throughout the day. You could even give yourself a double-dosage one day and then skip the next. It goes into the cellular bank account.

As for dosage, the all-mighty Robb Wolf fish oil calculator (praise him!) is only supposed to be a temporary thing so as to get a lot of omega 3 in our tissues and reverse inflammation quickly. Then you can take less. It will depend upon the omega 6 in your diet. A good ratio is probably 1:2.
    Stabbing conventional wisdom in its face.

Anyone who wants to talk nutrition should PM me!

livingyears79 is offline Junior Member