Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: It still takes a little willpower... page

Griff is offline Senior Member

Primal Fuel

I've noticed dozens of positive changes since I went Primal two months ago. Most of them are things that, on a low-fat low-calorie diet, used up all my willpower and then some, so I'd fail at them a lot. But although most of the changes I've made are positive and I feel better about having made them, there's still a few that require some willpower for me to keep in effect, and I figure everyone has at least one or two of them. Here's mine.

1. I still need to consciously check in with my body and make sure I'm hungry, not just bored, before I make or buy food. If I'm bored, I need to find something to do. My first step whenever I get hunger pangs now is always to drink one to two cups of water, and see if it was thirst instead. I'm still learning my body signals, and this helps.

2. I still need to weigh everything I eat. My by-eye estimates are not trustworthy. I saw a portable mini-scale in a catalog once that would fit in a pocket or purse; I need to get one of those for my meals out.

3. When I go to a restaurant, I have to remember to get a take-home box right up front and put at least part of my meal into it. I have to consciously remind myself that I can eat some of it later, that I don't have to clean my plate. The starving children in Africa will not be helped by me forcing it all down, regardless of what my grandmother said. And I have to remember to set the fork down and check in with my body during the meal - and the moment I'm not hungry anymore, I have to remember to STOP EATING. As a former member of the Clean Plate Club, this is actually the hardest thing for me to do. When there's anything left on the plate, I pick at it because I feel guilty if I don't finish the entire plate. Putting some of it in a box, out of sight, helps me stick to the resolution to give up my CPC membership for good.