Thread: proper sprints/HITT protocal page

elitdruin is offline Junior Member

proper sprints/HITT protocal

Hello. I have a couple questions, I'm new to the tribe here. I would like to do a sprint session once a week. I know Mark had mentioned he does Tabata sprints, but only once in a while(I understand they can really tax the body for a day or two). So if thats the case, then what other variations on sprints are recom
    mended for weekly bouts to gain energy pathways,HGHormone,etc.?

Also, do HITT body weight exercises accomplish the same goal?

Last question. If the above is true, can I do sprints one week and then HITT body weight exercises the following week for overall coverage? Seems like doing sprints and the HITT exercises same week would be brutal using all that energy and still trying to do my clubbells/etc. 2 to 3x a week on top.

Anyway-appreciate any feedback. Thanks

Thor Falk is offline Senior Member
    I will give you my personal view which I have to warn you though is not entirely PB. Couldnt see how old you are and/or what your goals are, but IMHO it is possible to up the frequency of the HIIT sessions a bit. For reference, CrossFit scheduling is on a 3-day-on/1-day-off basis, and at least 2 out of the three days generally have some interval component, which means that in average you are doing intervals every other day.

Now clearly - the biggest bang for your buck (according to 80/20 principle) - is doing HIIT's every 7-10 days as Mark recommends, but IMHO you can go further than that, assuming it feels right for you.

I have recently written about Programming Interval Training here: Programming Interval Training | Thor Falk. Have a look if you like. The short answer is: you can do a lot of things as basis for your HIIT, including body- and other -weight exercises. The key is that it is a whole body exercise though - HIIT with biceps preacher curls will not get you very far.