Thread: Want to start PB Fitness, Need Advice page

Stephanie A. is offline Member

Want to start PB Fitness, Need Advice

Primal Fuel
    Hello -

I am fairly new to Primal Blueprint (4 weeks). I have read all of the materials and the books. I have transitioned my diet and would like to start the fitness program. I am doing well with the 5 hours of low/mod cardio and would like to start the strength exercises and finally sprinting.

I am very out of shape, obese, mid-40's female. My question is about the Overhead Press. Even at Level 1, this seems like it is too difficult for me at my current level of fitness. Is there a Level 0 move that might help prepare me for Level 1 of this move? I am concerned about injury.

Thanks for any insight. I am very anxious to get started on the 'Lift Heavy Things' portion of the program!

Stephanie A.

Darbbb is offline Member
    I would incorporate some kind of overhead press using dumbells, something like a military press. Decide on a weight that will let you do, say, 12-15 reps, with the last three or so reps being hard but not so hard that you lose your good form.

YouTube - John Berardi - Dumbell Military Press

claude512 is offline Senior Member
    I agree on the dumbbells, just need to get one btw, so the expense is minimal
    you could do a 15 or 20 rep scheme to start with, but I find that I respond much better to a more classical 5x5 scheme (2 warmup stes with progressive poundage, 3 work sets with your max)

the important part is that each time you increase the weight a little bit, and you will see that you will get stronger very fast!

(on a side note, the guy in the video above is very strong, but these are not military presses, he is doing push presses -> whole other exercise... btw you can also do the press using one dumbbell and doing one arm at a time, so you don't have to invest in a second dumbbell)

tfarny is offline Senior Member