Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Primal Challenge Journal (BikerPike) page

BikerPike Guest

Primal Fuel

Hi!

I've been reading the site for a few weeks and started doing Primal 2 weeks ago. I'm very motivated by what I've read and inspired by the success and life changes I have read about on this site. I have a lot to learn.

I'm 47 and a mom to 5 kids.

I've been working on losing weight since '03 and have lost up to 97 pounds but put on about 10 from my low. I lost 62 pounds the first year doing different low carb diets starting with Atkins. When I started being more active and training for triathlons I added more whole grains and starches back into my diet. My weight loss really slowed down but I made progress slowly.

I did learn to love to exercise and have found I love to cycle and run. I have been doing triathlons for last 6 years with my last two years focusing on Ironman races.

In two weeks doing Primal I've lost 7 pounds, getting off grains and sugar has cleared my mind, and I can feel the difference in both my energy level and emotions. Plus the food is so tasty!

I'm still working on eating when hungry as my appetite is gone. Being a Mom and having kids we tend to eat together and so I eat even when I'm not hungry. I've done a couple IFs for about 18-20 hours and felt good.

I've tracked my calories on and off for 5 years. I'm eating as many calories as I did but now I'm losing weight when before I ate many more carbs and less fat and would not lose weight on same calories. It feels so odd after so many years of hearing CW and avoiding fat to want to eat fat.

I am racing cyclocross this fall (think steeple chase on bikes but I do the jumping over the barriers carrying my bike) so trying to learn how to adapt PB for racing as I need a few more carbs and more stored glycogen.