Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Getting sick twice in 2-3 months of going Primal. How can this be? page

Edje Noh is offline Senior Member

Question Getting sick twice in 2-3 months of going Primal. How can this be?

Primal Blueprint Expert Certification
    Hey folks,

I've been transitioning into primal foods for the past three months (the first two I still gave into sugar cravings and ate non-primal stuff in between & and the last month has been full primal as I didn't have any shitty foods in the house anymore).
    The thing is, at times I felt better, but a lot of times I have these insane carb/sugar cravings. A friend of mine said that my body needed to adjust from fuelling on sugars to fueling on fats.
    I also have gotten sick twice (whereas normally I don't get sick so often) (first in January for a few days and again yesterday) and I'm starting to doubt if this stuff is really going to propel me to the high levels of health it promises.
    I also strained my left ab muscles during a work-out 2,5 week ago, so this might be a factor.
    (caught me off guard as I tend to lift consciously and not take on more weight then I can handle, pushing my comfort zones wisely)

Further background info: I'm 23 years old, 158 lbs and exercise and work-out regularly.
    I don't smoke, I don't drink alcohol
    Previous diet: high carb, low-fat, low protein (ate a lot of bread, cheese, milk, cereal, cookies, pasta, but also quite some conventionally grown veggies and fruits and a bit of meat)
    Current diet: balanced organic: (eat a lot of organic veggies, fruits, meat, fish, eggs, nuts and dark chocolate, drink only water and freshly blended fruit juice)

I'm sort of reaching a low here, I'm putting in quite some effort to change and improve myself and I feel I'm only getting worse.
    The only explanation I could think of was that my body is cleansing itself of it's toxins or something.