Thread: Time Magazine Article on Whether We Should Eat Like Cavemen page

BayRunner is offline Junior Member

Time Magazine Article on Whether We Should Eat Like Cavemen

http://www.time.com/time/health/arti...4343-1,00.html

I'm curious what everyone's two cents are on this article. In particular, what's your opinion on Daniel Lieberman's position that our genes could care less how healthy we are as long as we reproduce. This is completely against TPB's basic premise.

js290 is offline Senior Member

Hedonist is offline Senior Member
    It doesn't matter whether some paleo folks ran a lot. What matters is that evidence shows you can be in great health by running a little, thereby avoiding injury.

We are not a species that pops out a bunch of young who soon fend for themselves. Small hunter gatherer tribes needed elders.

Read The Old Way: A Story of the First People by Elizabeth Marshall Thomas.
    Ancestral Health Info

I design websites and blogs for a living. If you would like a blog or website designed by someone who understands Primal, see my web page.

Primal Blueprint Explorer My blog for people who are not into the Grok thing. Since starting the blog, I have moved close to being Archevore instead of Primal. But Mark's Daily Apple is still the best source of information about living an ancestral lifestyle.

Roach is offline Senior Member
    What an absolutely awful article. Seriously, every sentence is a strawman or red herring. Anyway on you your specific question about a particulary idiotic passage from the article...

Genes don't "care" about anything. Saying they do must be a manifestation of tongue in cheek humor, complete lunacy, or total misunderstanding of what genes actually "do".

So yes, technically genes don't care if we're healthy. So what? Does anyone really organize there life around how their genes feel? No. People tend to care about their own subjective experience and seek methods to enhance that experience in a positive direction.