Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Am I jumping too far too soon? page

bandit is offline Junior Member

Am I jumping too far too soon?

Primal Fuel
    Today is day 2 in going primal and switching from a procrastination exercise program (I swear I'll start tomorrow) to Marks program. That being said, I just signed up for a Barefoot 5K at the end of May. Can I adjust my self to barefoot in 3+ months? Am I being over-enthusiastic? Or is it "got to make it work now, I have a deadline to not embarass myself at"? Time will tell

lizch is offline Senior Member
    I think that depends on

a) How much running you're used to
    and
    b) How much barefoot walking/running you've done
    and
    c) Particularly if the answers to (a) and (b) are "not much"....How gradually you ramp up toward the barefoot 5K

I LOVE barefoot, but I've read so many accounts of people going from regular shoes to barefoot and trying to run too far too fast, resulting in injury. I spent 3 months walking/hiking in Vibrams before I started exercising in them and have avoided any injuries--in fact, my problematic knee has been trouble free since the switch.
    Liz.

Zone diet on and off for several years....worked, but too much focus on exact meal composition
    Primal since July 2010...skinniest I've ever been and the least stressed about food

slowcooker is offline Senior Member
    You'll be fine. Focus on the strength and mobility stuff and don't hurt yourself overtraining for the run.
    Do some running at least once a week including a decent warm up 500-750 meters to find your pace, and then do some sprints.

iniQuity is offline Senior Member