Thread: shoulder problems after workout page

sarahz is offline Senior Member

shoulder problems after workout

Shop Now
    I trained shoulders today, it has been about 6 weeks since starting a split strengh training workout again so I have been doing shoulders on their own for quite a while plus I have been training for 14 years at the gym so I am by no means a novice. My question is after doing shoulders today I came home and got ready and did my housework, so I am cleaning and I notice my shoulders suddenly pinged and it felt like they almost popped out. I stopped doing what I was doing and then they were ok so I carried on cleaning and it happened a couple more times. Does this mean there is something wrong with my shoulders? should I stop lifting weights so to speak and just do more generic whole body workouts? Any comments would help!

Barb is offline Senior Member
    When I strain something in the shoulder area it results in some muscle tightening up and upsetting the whole fit of my shoulder joint, causing pinging and catching and uncomfortable rotation. Here is something I learned from a physical therapist that fixes this problem. Grab a dumbbell in the hand of the affected side - maybe 10 lbs or so. IF you don't have a dumbell handy, use something else heavy like a milk jug filled with water or a heavy rock.

Bend at the waist next to a table and support your upper body by resting your free arm on the table. Now, swing your affected arm back and forth, allowing the weight to pull on the shoulder until all catches and kinks are gone. There are 4 planes to swing in - horizontally, front to back, and the two diagonals. You will have to position yourself in relation to the table to allow a free and full swing in each plane.