Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: A can of coconut milk every day, too much? page

deadeyenight is offline Junior Member

A can of coconut milk every day, too much?

Primal Fuel
    I am new to the primal world and just recently got sick for about a week (unrelated I believe). I hardly ate anything at all and didn't go to the gym. Unfortunately, I went from about 145 lbs down to 137 lbs and it shows. I want to get my mass back up, but I'm having trouble finding the calories (as you may be able to tell I'm a 'hard gainer').

I'm thinking about upping my protein shake uptake to twice the amount and every day. It would look like this: 4 scoops whey protein, 1 banana, water, 3 tbsp almond butter, 1 can coconut milk. Here are the nutrition facts:

Calories: 1,560
    Protein: 112 g
    Sat. Fat: 77 g

I know saturated fat isn't a bad thing in the primal philosophy, but is 75 grams too much to have day in & day out? CW suggests 20 grams or less per day, and although I know CW isn't anything to quote, I'd be so far exceeding it (not even including my other 3 daily meals) that it gives me some concern.
    Last edited by deadeyenight; 02-19-2011 at 09:56 AM.

O_O
    O_O is offline Senior Member
    You do need other fat besides saturated. A large amount of coconut milk can for some cause some gassy issues.

These nutrition stats are just for my daily shake which I'd drink throughout the day. It doesn't include the 3 "normal" meals I'd be eating that would have plenty of normal fat. I'm just wondering if this large amount of saturated fat is something to worry about, and if I should drop it to half a can of coconut milk which would make the shake 1,200 calories and around 35 g sat. fat.

O_O
    I don't know what would be considered too much saturated fat if any is even considered too much. I just try to balance out the mufa's, omega 6's, 3's and saturated.

How much protein are you planning on eating?