Thread: Protiens, Veg and Fruit Separately? page

Primal_Island_Girl is offline Junior Member

Question Protiens, Veg and Fruit Separately?

Primal Blueprint Expert Certification
    Hi folks, I'm very new to Primal and have a question....Do you HAVE to mix food groups at meals or can you eat them separately?

Could I eat my protein in a meal my veggies in another and have fruit as a snack with no issues or is it imperative that you mix all types into one meal? I don't recall seeing any reference made to that in the book. If anybody can offer suggestions I'd appreciate it. TY!
    Height: 5' 7"
    Starting: 211.8 (43% bf)
    Current: 191.8
    Goal: 155 (23% bf)

runnergal is offline Senior Member
    I personally find fruit by itself is too sharp a carbohydrate hit and is likely to cause blood sugar spike and crash.
    MTA: because it is rare I dont have more to say

"When I got too tired to run anymore I just pretended I wasnt tired and kept running anyway" - my daughter Age 7

Zed
    Zed is offline Senior Member
    Quote Originally Posted by Primal_Island_Girl View Post
    Hi folks, I'm very new to Primal and have a question....Do you HAVE to mix food groups at meals or can you eat them separately?

Could I eat my protein in a meal my veggies in another and have fruit as a snack with no issues or is it imperative that you mix all types into one meal? I don't recall seeing any reference made to that in the book. If anybody can offer suggestions I'd appreciate it. TY!
    Do what works for you. You don't have to have a meal with meat + veggies. You can have a meal with just a fatty cut of meat, and call it a day (Grok would have done it lots of times!) Actually, once I eat a 14-16 ounce of well marbled boneless grass-fed rib eye steak (top with lots of butter), I really don't have room for veggies!

Zed
    Zed is offline Senior Member
    Quote Originally Posted by runnergal View Post