Thread: PB Fitness Anxiety? page

Darbbb is offline Member

PB Fitness Anxiety?

Hi guys

I am fairly new to primal/paleo eating but doing well, though right now I am working through a stall in my weight/bodyfat loss. I am 49 years old, active, fit. Right now I am 6'2 and about 219, and my goals are general health/fitness, bodyfat loss, staying active. For now I am keeping my carbs low, under 50 g. a day. Right now I am doing P90x with only two weeks left. After that, I plan to switch over to PB Fitness. I am happy with the changes to my body that P90x has given me, but I suspect that I am overtraining, and that the fatigue I'm feeling has more to do with workouts than with my new diet.

I think the anxiety I''m referring to is that I worry that PB fitness isn't "enough." With P90x (and with the brazillian jiu jitsu I have practiced for five years), I am used to the idea that I should really "beat myself up" in the gym, no pain no gain, all of that. I read PB Fitness and it's not about that. I know, in my head, that that's a good thing, but I just worry that I'm going to lose all my hard-earned gains, that losing a "kick-ass" workout every day of the week is somehow going to be detrimental. Again, intellectually, I know that's not true, but I have trouble shaking the feeling. Advice? Thanks.

PS. Just to clarify, I am NOT doing P90x and BJJ at the same time. I have taken a break from BJJ, for now, perhaps for good.

iniQuity is offline Senior Member
    Couple of things,

- PBF isn’t exactly easy, you will still be challenged.
    - you can do a different program, PBF is only one out of many options. Perhaps a program like Starting Strength or Strong Lifts would better suit you.
    - Your body needs rest, but at the same time, if you’re conditioned you can workout more frequently, just being mindful not to literally kill yourself daily.