Thread: 9 day race.. how to fuel for the training and race? page

mikeyt is offline Senior Member

9 day race.. how to fuel for the training and race?

Primal Fuel
    So I've signed up for a 'cross britain' bike ride in June, about 120 miles / day at a reasonable pace for 9 days. There should be about 499 other fools doing it and the organisers will feed us regularly (and carry our stuff and put up our tents every night )

I'm pretty new to this Primal stuff but did a century ride at the weekend and had no problem doing it 'primal' (although I took it a bit slower than I will need to be in June) but I was exhausted the next two days. I guess I will need more fuel for the furnace to sustain it for a week and more.

Am currently thinking about doing as much of the training as I can Primally then using pasta, rice and Mule bars to get through the event itself. Does that sound about right? When do I start re-training myself to eat them?

Hedonist is offline Senior Member
    Quote Originally Posted by mikeyt View Post
    Am currently thinking about doing as much of the training as I can Primally then using pasta, rice and Mule bars to get through the event itself. Does that sound about right? When do I start re-training myself to eat them?
    Yes. Train yourself to burn primarily fat, then add as much carbs as you need for the event. Try not to do pasta. Rice, yams, potatoes, other starchy veg. Plenty of fat.
    Ancestral Health Info

I design websites and blogs for a living. If you would like a blog or website designed by someone who understands Primal, see my web page.

Primal Blueprint Explorer My blog for people who are not into the Grok thing. Since starting the blog, I have moved close to being Archevore instead of Primal. But Mark's Daily Apple is still the best source of information about living an ancestral lifestyle.

gordo is offline Senior Member

stephenmarklay is offline Senior Member