Thread: The danger of protein during pregnancy page

maba is offline Senior Member

The danger of protein during pregnancy

Shop Now
    I came across this post in the Perfect Health Diet blog and want to know your thoughts on it. They recommend protein restriction in general.

http://perfecthealthdiet.com/?p=196

Bee
    Bee is offline Junior Member
    Hmm. I'm not sure--interested to hear what others have to say. I'm new to the whole paleo/primal WOE, but I followed the Brewer Diet during both pregnancies (http://www.blueribbonbaby.org/) to avoid pre-eclampsia (my mother had pre-e with me). Dr Brewer recommended 80-100g protein a day. My first was born at 36 weeks and he was perfectly healthy for being 4 weeks early--I know a lot of 36 weekers who have had underdeveloped lungs. I attribute his good size (7lbs 5oz) to the diet. Larger babies can afford to lose more weight immediately after birth, among other things.

LadyDuke is offline Junior Member
    I ate a LOT of protein with both my pregnancies. I needed it - I worked heavy physical labor on a farm while pregnant with my first (and went back to work on said farm 2 days after she was born), and took care of my DH's terminally ill mother (lifting her, moving her, cleaning her house, moving her into a new apartment, etc) while pregnant with my second.