Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Barefoot on hard surfaces? page

huntergirlhayden is offline Senior Member

Question Barefoot on hard surfaces?

Primal Fuel
    I'm a baker, I stand on cement floors 8 to 12 hours a day. I'm primal, I don't like to wear shoes. I have to wear shoes in the kitchen, no option, but the type is negotiable. I'm saving up for Vibrams and I'd be able to wear them, but would it be wise. Going barefoot is all well and good on natural surfaces, but would it be a positive thing to do on man made brutally hard surfaces? Thoughts, comments? Suggestions?
    "It is not what you are that holds you back, it is what you think you're not."
    Denis Waitley

Diana Renata is offline Senior Member
    I have been wearing Vibrams daily since last March, including to work at a fiber optics factory with concrete floors.

I have to say, my feet do not feel anywhere near as tired as they did when I was wearing shoes. I highly recommend it.

Paleobird Guest
    Quote Originally Posted by Diana Renata View Post
    I have to say, my feet do not feel anywhere near as tired as they did when I was wearing shoes. I highly recommend it.
    This. I live in an urban area so I try to get out in the backcountry for hikes as often as possible but I still end up on pavement most of the time. The VFFs are great for taking the strain off your joints.

Good deal! I'm super glad to hear that, I have planter fascitis and I'm hoping the switch will help change that, my feet hurt so bad in the mornings, even the smallest relief would be welcome. I hike barefoot and even after 4 hours on rocky soil my feet never hurt, but when I get off a shift at work I feel every step I took.
    Thanks for the help!
    Denis Waitley

Meadow is offline Senior Member