Thread: Please can you help a beginner page

Horsewoman is offline Senior Member

Please can you help a beginner

Primal Fuel
    Hi. I Have been exercising regularly for the last 3 years, rebuilding my strength and fitness after being ill thanks to the lovely gluten, for the previous few years. Been doing hiking (got lovely moors here), yoga (iyengar class once a week, some at home), swimming (but not been much since autumn, is usually once a week for 30 mins). I'm also fortunate to be able to walk my kids to school each day. I have done weight training in the past but find it a bit squeamish lol, I do have a good set of weights available.

So.... I am about 230lbs, 5ft 4, much healthier than I was but still get tired easily so need to be careful I don't push myself too hard. I am disappointed with the results I've been getting for the time I've been putting in. It's been a big challenge to fit it in along with caring for 4 kids, job etc etc and here I am, okay I am fitter than I was when I was ill, but I hoped for a lot more, and have lost my motivation. I miss the days before I got ill, I was 130lbs and used to run and weight train regularly. That was 7 or so years ago and feels like another lifetime after everything that's happened since!

I would really appreciate some advice on developing a good program for me to get on the road to greater fitness. I've read the PB fitness book but don't feel very confident in knowing how to approach it for myself.

ETA that I do have a slight uterine prolapse so am not keen on anything too high impact or that might cause that to worsen.
    Thanks very much for any help offered
    Last edited by Horsewoman; 02-12-2011 at 11:34 AM.
    Gluten intolerance and hypermobility syndrome http://www.cfids.org/pdf/joint-hypermobility-guide.pdf

Eat food. Mostly real. Enjoy life.

Health, energy, wellbeing, vitality, joy, LIFE! Health At Every Size