Thread: Substitutes for exercises? page

peacheater is offline Member

Substitutes for exercises?

Primal Blueprint Expert Certification
    So I've been following Rachel Cosgrove's Female Body Breakthrough Workout plan for a month now and have been seeing great results. The workouts consist of 2-3 days strength training per week for the first month and then add additional days for short high intensity interval training workouts in subsequent months. Each month the workouts change.
    Unfortunately two of the exercises for the second month involve a Swiss ball, which my gym doesn't have . They are the Prone Jackknife and Supinated Hip Extension with Leg Curl . I could buy a Swiss ball for home and do the exercises there but would prefer to do my entire workout at the gym in the order suggested. Could anyone suggest exercises that would have approximately the same benefits as these exercises? I'm rather new to all this stuff and would greatly appreciate the help!

primalrob is offline Senior Member
    for the jackknife, you could throw your legs up on a bench and walk your arms in so that you do a crunch. it will likely be harder, particularly on your arms and shoulders, but a similar exercise. pretty sure that is an ab exercise though, and doing a plank is as good as anything else.

for the hip extension, it says it works hamstrings, abs, quads and glutes...there is no exercise that works those muscles better than the squat, IMO. but, you could also substitute a bridge pretty easily also.

Thanks primalrob! I'll give your suggestions a try the next time I'm at the gym.

runnergal is offline Senior Member
    The supinated hip extension is a killer hamstring move...more hamstring intensive than the squat. I think the one-legged pelvic thrust is probably a bit closer.....let me see if I can find a linky