Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Stevia page

PrimaLauren is offline Junior Member

Stevia

This may well have been covered already, but the search function on this forum seems to kinda suck.

So! My question is: what do you all think of stevia?

I've been using it for a couple of years and I like it. I just wonder if the sweet taste could be triggering insulin release and therefore fat storage and blood sugar drops...
    What are your experiences with stevia?

Thanks!
    Lauren (newbie)
    ~ i've tried every diet there is, but have always felt best when i did my own version of low-carb, one that turns out to be very much like PB. no one i know eats like this so i'm very happy to have found this site and some like-minded folks.
    ~ i'm 5'6'' and my (re)start weight, as of february 1, 2011, was 149 lbs (size 6/8)
    ~ february 14th, i'm 145 and already feeling more comfortable in my clothes and skin!

Grumpycakes is offline Senior Member
    Quote Originally Posted by PrimaLauren View Post
    I just wonder if the sweet taste could be triggering insulin release and therefore fat storage and blood sugar drops...
    Yes, probably, to some extent. Sensing sweetness alone has been known to do those things.
    You lousy kids! Get off my savannah!

Digby is offline Senior Member
    While stevia is considered natural, the sweet taste can trigger insulin production; so, if a person has high or reactive insulin-- sometimes called hyperinsulinemia--then all sweet tastes are potential triggers. I use a small amount of liquid stevia in some recipes, but try to limit its use.
    This time, like all times, is a very good one, if we but know what to do with it. Ralph Waldo Emerson

Any given day you are surrounded by 10,000 idiots.
    Lao Tsu, founder of Taoism

runnergal is offline Senior Member