Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Sugar binge! So frustrated and down :( page

irenesom is offline Senior Member

Sugar binge! So frustrated and down :(

Shop Now
    I am new to primal but I KNOW it makes perfect sense for me. I got on board about new year and had a weekend blowout on sugar/grains in Jan. Then I refocused and have come 20 days in till last night when I opened the door to the sugar monster, hello chocolate! Now crisps and milk chocolate. Gawd I feel mentally drained. The pattern is get going then about 20 days in have some freaking nutritional meltdown fortunetly not involving gluten this time.

I am frustrated! I am disappointed I may have undone all my good, getting out of carb burn to fat burn work. I love primal and it suit how I want to live but poor sleep and work stress have pushed the nutritional meltdown button. How predictable!

Any advice about how to get back on track? Recovery strategies? I think I am going to see a councillor for this binge eating disorder? I can't keep repeating this pattern!

You know, I realise I don't even friggin like dark chocolate that much!

emmie is offline Senior Member
    Are you sure this is a true "binge eating disorder" or simply giving in to cravings and eating off plan? There's a significant difference, since the former is a serious eating disorder, but the latter is simply a matter of giving into stress (which we often have learned to relieve with food).

You might try changing your 'self-talk' the way we convince ourselves that we 'need' the candy or bagels, etc. It's taken me a long time, but I've learned to stop myself when tempted to indulge in junk by asking myself why I am feeling so self-destructive? (Sugar in any form increases the pain of my arthritis rather dramatically, so I really am self-destructive if I have sweets.) As with you, it's usually weakness caused by stress or fatigue, and once I identify it, I ask myself what other indulgence will suffice.